Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

Action Cam

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Apprentice
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-06-2017
Message 1 of 11 (848 Views)

FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

Is it possible to connect the Sony Action Cam FDR-X3000 monitor to another Sony camera like the a6500? What joy this would bring me!

Expert
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎11-02-2015
Message 2 of 11 (827 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

If the camera features WiFi and you can use it with your smartphone (using PlayMemories Mobile) it should work.
Apprentice
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-06-2017
Message 3 of 11 (825 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

Thanks, yes, that could work. Although I like having the simple monitor to check rather than the phone. Think it's possible? 

Expert
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎11-02-2015
Message 4 of 11 (823 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

As I said - if it works with your phone, it should work with the LVR3 remote, which you are talking about.
Apprentice
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-06-2017
Message 5 of 11 (813 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

I'm almost there... I tried two methods that almost worked.

 

Method 1

In the a6500 menu I selected "View on TV" under Tab 3 (Wireless 1). I powered on the RM-LVR3 monitor and it appeared in the list of wifi connection devices on the camera. YES. When I select to connect the monitor, both the monitor and a6500 have the spinning loading wheel but never connect. 

 

Method 2

I open the Smart Remote Embedded app in the Applications Tab under the Application List. I turn on the RM-LVR3 and see the a6500 in the list to connect to. YES. I connect it. The a6500 then says "Allow connection from the device?" which I select "OK". The a6500 then says, "Authentication and connection of WiFi Direct failed."

 

Not sure what I'm doing wrong... Any tips?

Expert
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎11-02-2015
Message 6 of 11 (805 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

I have seen someone on YOuTube using it with a Sony a6000 or a6500 - I will try to find that video.
Expert
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎11-02-2015
Message 7 of 11 (689 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

I couldn't find exactly the video I was looking for, yet I found this one: https://youtu.be/uNc2-1tRgTg?t=182

It is maybe the same for the a6500.
Apprentice
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎03-06-2017
Message 8 of 11 (684 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

Thanks, I will comment and ask her how she connected it. If I figure it out, I'll post back here. I appreciate your help!
Expert
Posts: 1,028
Registered: ‎11-02-2015
Message 9 of 11 (681 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

If you click the link, the video should start at the explanation.
Enthusiast
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-03-2017
Message 10 of 11 (446 Views)

Re: FDR-X300 Monitor Connected to a6500?

It doesnt work on the a6500, always get the "Authentication and connection of WiFi Direct failed."

 

I went to a sony store and same process works on a5100, a6000, a6300, even on the new a9 but it doesnt work on a6500. 

 

contacted support and their answer is that live view is not supported for alpha cameras 

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook