Welcome to the Community!

Action Cam

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Message 1 of 5 (1,926 Views)

FDR-X3000 underwater screen: possible ?

Hello everyone,

I am a scuba diver and I've been doing some underwater videos for a few years using a famous action cam from another brand. I am currently in the process of trying to find a new and better action camfor teh same purpose.

The FDR-X3000 looks to be the obvious choice, but it has, for me, a major flaw for underwater video recording : no screen. I see that the FDR-X3000 comes with the RM-LVR3 remote that has a screen. From what I understood the RM-LVR3 cannot be used underwater.

So I have 2 questions:

- Is there a way to use the FDR-X3000 with a screen (RM-LVR3 or anything else) underwater ?

- Is it in Sony projects to offer such a possibility ?

Thanks a lot for your feedback,

Message 2 of 5 (1,924 Views)

Re: FDR-X3000 underwater screen: possible ?

There is no possibility aside from building a container for the camera and the remote.

WiFi can't penetrate water so any remote connection would have to go trough air.

Though I would like to notice, that the camera has a 170° field of view and therefore you are able to frame what you want by just pointing it in the right direction.

I personally would mount the camera on the oxygen bottles (preferrably on a stick) to get a nice "third person view".

Message 3 of 5 (1,900 Views)

Thanks for your feedback. I was quite pessimistic about it as I've found nothing related to using a screen underwater with the X3000. I'm quite pessimistic too about the any possibility in the near/medium future.