Welcome to the Community!

Alpha NEX Cameras

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Enthusiast
Message 11 of 16 (867 Views)

Re: Dead a6000 hot shoe?

I can assure you all the mentioned procedures were fully pursued early in the process.  I've been using cameras semi professionaly for many years.  What happens here is a configuration problem.  The A6000 just doesn't recognized the flash and flash doesn't recognize the camera.  They know each other are there but do not function properly together.  The flash works well when not attached to camera.  Both in TTL and Manual modes.  Attach it to the camera and in TTL mode, nothing on the flash can be changed.  You can not adjust it in anyway.  The only thing on the flash that let you know they are connected is in the TTL Zoom mode, the flash lens setting will change from 20mm to 50mm.  No higher than 50mm despite the lens.  Can't change anything in Manual mode either.  Can't change mode or any of the setting.  When attached, the camera recognizers that an external flash is attached, the little orange dot and the flash symbol shows in the display, and it fires just as it should.  Timing and lens control by the firmware is probably the issue.  The camera setting are, set automatically I assume due to the flash attachment, are totally out of sync with the flash.  The flash even cycles properly using the "no red eye" mode on the camera.  The exposure is at least 5 to 10 stops underexposed.  As to your suggestion to use Manual mode, why buying a TTL flash and then not be able to use it?  The flash still underexposed when in Manual.  Bottom line, they are not compatible or the flash I received was faulty.  Too many people online had the same problem.  The camera is fantastic and I hope someday Sony will alter the firmware to be able to use a 3rd party flash specifically for Sony cameras such as the Godox TT685s.  Apparently the Godox does work on other Sony platforms.  It has the little fingers in the front of t