Welcome to the Community!

Alpha - SLT & DSLR Cameras

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-15-2017
Message 1 of 7 (674 Views)
Accepted Solution

Can I use an old flash on a6000

I am an old guy with a new a6000 camera.  Back in the pre digital film days I used a Minolta SLR with an electronic flash.  The old flash units still work.  Can I use the old flash on the hot shoe on the a6000 without damaging the camera?  I know I will have to shoot on manual since there will be no exposure control.

Moderator
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎10-21-2014
Message 2 of 7 (569 Views)

Re: Can I use an old flash on a6000

Hi EdS2002,

 

Thank you for considering Sony Community!

 

Please provide us the model number of your Minolta flash so we can check the compatibility/functionality when used with the Sony a6000 camera.

 

Regards,

-Anthony

Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-15-2017
Message 3 of 7 (558 Views)

Re: Can I use an old flash on a6000

My old camera is a Minolta SRT101, completely mechanical.  The flash units I have are a Vivitar 283 and a Fotomatic 321A.  The flash units do not have any kind of digital connection to a camera, just the center pin on the hot shoe.  I do not know the electrical characteristics of the flash or the new a6000 camera.  Before I try to use the old flash I want to make sure that there is no voltage or power incompatibility that might fry the circuits in my new camera.

 

Thanks for your help.

Ed

Moderator
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎10-21-2014
Message 4 of 7 (544 Views)

Re: Can I use an old flash on a6000

Hi EdS2002,

 

Sony can't guarantee 100% compatibility of 3rd party flash and accessories.

 

You may refer to the link below to check the external flash function compatibility chart. for Sony/Minolta cameras:

https://us.en.kb.sony.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/49912/.

 

 

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

 

Regards,

-Anthony

 

Specialist
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 5 of 7 (520 Views)

Re: Can I use an old flash on a6000

[ Edited ]

That old Vivitar 283 is a classic auto-thyristor flash from the '60's. Many say it was the best selling flash of all-time, I had the equivalent SunPak version.

 

Unfortunately, Ken Rockwell and others have measured the Vivitar 283 sync voltage at ~260V so no-no-no on the A6000. I can't find any info on the Fotomatic.

 

You can find ways around high sync voltages but with so many cheap flashes (dirt-cheap manual, a few "auto" or thyristor, a little more expensive TTL) around these days it may not be worth the risk of even trying to use it.

 

Take a look at 3rd party flashes at B&H Photo, Adorama websites for less-expensive alternates to Sony flashes. If you're looking for TTL, make sure they're compatible with the Sony TTL system.

 

 

Specialist
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎12-22-2012
Message 6 of 7 (515 Views)

Re: Can I use an old flash on a6000

[ Edited ]

My dear daughter-in-law just picked up an A6000 and I let her borrow my HVL-F42AM & adapter until she got her own flash. She's had it for a while now.....

I might just buy her a Godox TT350S in an attempt to get my 42AM back. Smiley Very Happy The TT350S has full Sony TTL, HSS, radio receiver built-in (transmitter is optional item), small size perfect for the small A6000.

Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-15-2017
Message 7 of 7 (498 Views)

Re: Can I use an old flash on a6000

Thanks for your help.  I did a general web search and found similar information.  I will avoid using the old flash on camera.  At least I can use it as a remote flash with an old photo trigger I have.

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook