Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

Alpha - SLT & DSLR Cameras

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-05-2017
Message 1 of 6 (1,566 Views)

Please fix the a6500 4k HDMI Info. Display output with external monitor !

Hi,

 

i used to shoot with my a6000 while connected to an external monitor and it was showing all the info while recording, so i decided to upgrade to the a6500 for the 4K ability only to discover that i cant see the recording info on my external monitor !!!! 

 

i use the camera to shoot vlogs and i bought the monitor because there is no flip screen in the camera!

 

so now i cant shoot myself in 4k because i cant even see if the camera is still recording or overheated and stopped or the battery is low and will stop at any moment !!? 

 

so this make the whole camera useless to me ! 

 

please fix this on an update !! this is seriously silly specially when you can get all the info in 1080p and everyone who bought this camera to shoot vlogs on 4k is outraged about this because we already bought external monitor !!!! 

 

thanks .

Moderator
Posts: 631
Registered: ‎10-21-2014
Message 2 of 6 (1,513 Views)

Re: Please fix the a6500 4k HDMI Info. Display output with external monitor !

Hi Hozz,

 

You cannot monitor recording on an external monitor if Recording Format on this camera is set to XAVC S 4K.

 

For further assistance, please contact the Sony offices/Sony representative offices nearest to your place of residence in Asia Pacific region at http://www.sony-asia.com/locale-selector?hpid=countryselector:AsiaPacific. Due to proximity, they are in a better position to respond to your questions or concerns.

 

If my post answers your question, please click the "Accept as Solution" button.

 

Regards,

-Anthony

Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2017
Message 3 of 6 (291 Views)

Re: Please fix the a6500 4k HDMI Info. Display output with external monitor !

Has there been any update on this? I don't understand why we are unable to see the Info when shooting 4k but it comes through just fine in 1080p
Enthusiast
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2017
Message 4 of 6 (263 Views)

Re: Please fix the a6500 4k HDMI Info. Display output with external monitor !

[ Edited ]

I know this thread isn't new, but "Accept as solution?"  You did absoultey nothing to address the issue, all you did was confirm the problem that the OP addressed in her email.

 

An answer might have been some solution to address the problem-- perhaps a hack, or workaround?  It could give details of proposed solutions.  Even, as a suggestion, working to address what is an OBVIOUS problem.

 

To wit, the Sony Alpha A6500, which I've just purchased as have many people for the purposes of vlogging in 4k.  One of the biggest and most often noted drawbacks to the A6500 is that the screen doesn't pivot outward, so vloggers NEED an external monitor in order to compose shots, and make certain of shot integrity.  One of two things makes that work: an external monitor, or a flip-out screen.  Only one of these things works for people that have bought the camera prior to Sony's making the latter, absolutely obvious correction to the line.

 

But an external monitor doesn't work.  Confirming that it doesn't work, doesn't help anyone.  We know that; it's why we're asking the question.  When will this be fixed via firmware?  Tomorrow?  The next day?  Are there new, supported monitors where this is no longer an issue?  Does Sony realize that it's a very real problem to people that have spent a LOT of money to opt for their product to use professionally?  What are they doing to address the problem?

 

Someone, please answer the question with some or all of the above information.  Probably won't help the original poster, who's no doubt moved onto another brand of camera (while bad mouthing her beautiful A6500), but maybe it will help those of us that haven't yet given up hope.

 

Shantyhag

Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2017
Message 5 of 6 (249 Views)

Re: Please fix the a6500 4k HDMI Info. Display output with external monitor !

I want an answer to this problem. I bought this camera for vlogging and It did work for a while with an external monitor but quit about a month ago. I even sent it in for repair and just got it back and guess what. STILL doesn't work on the external monitor. What did you do to the camera to make it stop working Sony?!
Specialist
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎06-13-2016
Message 6 of 6 (161 Views)

Re: Please fix the a6500 4k HDMI Info. Display output with external monitor !

One possible workaround, which I have tried and worked, is to use PlayMemories Mobile on a smartphone or iPad. there is a little delay, but the image is displayed on the phone/ipad. and you can also control start and stop and some other settings remotely.

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook