Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

Alpha - SLT & DSLR Cameras

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Specialist
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 11 of 49 (3,119 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

[ Edited ]

I wholeheartedly agree with the OP. I also live in a PAL country, so to speak, and my RX10 purchased here has this extremely annoying nag message, so annoying that never again will I purchase locally if I must put up with that nonsense. Forcing this message on the user with no means of disabling it, an easy thing to do I would have thought, is quite juvenile on the part of Sony, I reckon.

 

I returned a HX200v purchased locally because of the terrible jitters when viewing 50p footage on my Dell 24" monitor. This is a known phenomena and probably/possibly why Sony offer the option in versions sold in so called PAL countries.

 

But the nag message for the life of the camera is just too silly. Fix it please Sony with a firmware release as every time I start up my RX10 I curse Sony and often miss a shot, and that's not good...

Enthusiast
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-06-2015
Message 12 of 49 (3,031 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

I just got the RX100 Mark III and have this message.  Why!!???  I consciously set that up and the camera doesn't need to remind me!!!  Sony can you please fix this with a firmware update!???

Enthusiast
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎05-10-2015
Message 13 of 49 (2,972 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

[ Edited ]

Today I have seen a new update... (2.0) for the Alpha 7

 

update description: speed up booting time of the camera

 

wow, I thought, did Sony really hear our prayers? Did Sony actually listen to their customers?

 

I installed the updated and came down to reality

 

the camera still bugged me with the "you are running in NTSC/PAL Mode" screen

 

WTF Sony? This could have been SO EASY TO FIX!?=!?

 

could some official here take position to this issue??

Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-30-2015
Message 14 of 49 (2,808 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

I have this annoying message on my RX100 iv and I'm seriously considering returning the camera. Shoot on the street both photo and slow-motion 60fps video. I turn the camera off frequently to conserve the tiny battery but when I see an interesting scene I want to shoot I need to quickly turn it on point and shoot. But unfortunately because I'm Australian it's more like turn on the camera, wait while the camera bugs me with this message and the moment has gone, then shoot the scene that has already passed. Useless! And before you say it: I'm not shooting in 50p because I need to conform to a 60p timeline with mixed footage. Please fix this Sony. It's just not fair for us PAL people. Show the message only once, the first time after changing region. This is a major usability flaw, don't trivialise it.
Posted from Facebook
Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-28-2015
Message 15 of 49 (2,733 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

I got my shiny new a7s ii and quickly turned it over to ntsc for 120 fps, which is 20% speed instead of 100fps which is 25% speed. Of course you want 120fps, why wouldn't you want an extra 20 fps?

 

To my surprise, my camera keeps letting me know that I switched it over to NTSC and everytime I read the message I think "Yes, I know that... I was the one that turned it to NTSC, thank you Captain Obvious!".

 

If I can dramatize this a little bit, what if every time you changed a setting, it would show as a pop up message on boot. "Running on Manual Focus" or "Running in 100 ISO".

 

I'm sure Sony engineers decided this would be a great way to have people not be confused by the different standards, but this slows down boot up time and I just knowing that this precious time might cost me the snapshot and frankly; it is annoying.

 

Turn it off, Sony.

Or at least give us the option to turn it off.

Enthusiast
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-18-2015
Message 16 of 49 (2,651 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

I use A7r II camera and should say that this "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" is a real annoying problem!

Sony should know that A7r II is pro camera and many photographers use it for professional shooting.

For pro shooting speed of working with camera is very important. Every second is important. And this message taking this second an annoying author.

Hope Sony will read this and make update sometime.

Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-05-2016
Message 17 of 49 (2,437 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

Hey Sony. Are you going to remove this annoying popup? Or to add option to disable this warning? After testing I've almost decided to buy A5100 camera but this warning keep me awake at night :/

Moderator
Posts: 1,165
Registered: ‎07-16-2015
Message 18 of 49 (2,398 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

Hi Mecedo,

 

Welcome to the Sony Community!

 

Sorry for the inconvenience but there is still no firmware/software update that can remove or disable the message.

 

For further assistance regarding your concern, We kindly recommend visiting our Sony Global Web site for information on contacting the Sony Support Center in your region at http://www.sony.net/SonyInfo/Support/.

 

Regards,

Zander 

Specialist
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎08-13-2013
Message 19 of 49 (2,390 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

I contacted Sony New Zealand support and spoke with a representative (located in the Phillipines) who was most polite and full of customer focused goodness.  I carefully explained the problem which is the subject of this thread and added another problem; the dimming of the eVF and the LCD when shooting 4k. The Sony representative fully understnds both concerns and promised a knowledgable technical representative would contact me within 48 hours.

 

I shall report the outcomes here in due course.

 

Cheers...

Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-05-2016
Message 20 of 49 (2,359 Views)

Re: "Warning you are in NTSC Mode" wtf?

Thanks zandere but this "kind reply formula" has low value for me. I wonder is it sense to wait for fixed firmware (or will be fixed firmware someday?) or should I find another product?

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook