Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

F5 & F55

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
SI Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-14-2013
Message 1 of 12 (896 Views)

F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

HI guys I have recently came across this problem when doing a manual white balance. It does not occur in preset mode. 

If I take a manual balance  and get a reading of lets say 3650 for example. Every thing is fine and the white balance does its job correcting skin tones etc. 

Now when I power down or change batterries upon rebooting the white balnce is lost and colors have shifted in some cases quite drastically. The odd thing is the display STILL READS 3650. But I have to re balance to correct it??

 

Its almost like the camera is defaulting to a previous balance. As mentioned this does not occur in preset mode which I use more often than not but when I need to balance this is proving to be frustrating .

 

Anyone else had this happen or have any thoughts???

Expert
Posts: 2,266
Registered: ‎11-23-2012
Message 2 of 12 (837 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

Manual white balance normally operates in 100K steps. You are seeing 3650, a 50K step. That suggests to me that you have a preset or offset setup in your white balance settings somewhere. I would suggest removing any offsets and see if that helps.

SI Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-14-2013
Message 3 of 12 (833 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

3650 was an example when I do the white it gives me an increment of 100. I just tested again got 3900 BUT the side display will read 3890.

Or some time I get say 3700 but it will read in side display as 3650. Not always the same difference

 

If its an offset issue where and how do I remove them?

SI Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-14-2013
Message 4 of 12 (727 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

[ Edited ]

Hi Alister sorry I passby the Off Set menu daily and never took notice or use it but I see what you are referring to. My offset settings are set to off and to zero. So I do not think thats the cause are there any other possibilities or has anyone else had this happen.

Expert
Posts: 2,266
Registered: ‎11-23-2012
Message 5 of 12 (692 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

How old is the camera? I wonder if the backup battery is going flat. Otherwise I would perform a camera reset and see if that helps.

SI Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-14-2013
Message 6 of 12 (687 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

[ Edited ]

Its not that old bought it late 2013. A second one was purchased by a friend same time and his is fine? But ths problem started a year ago. Has not bothered me enough as I do not use manual balance that often. Lately I have been and have been correcting it by re whiteing. 

If I do a camera reset I assume most if not all would be brought back when I load a Scene File back up?? Just curious what if anything I may have to "re enter". If memory serves things like peaking levels and zebra setting etc. are all stored in the SD card in the All File.

 

I will try a reset and see if that solves the issue .

Thanks 

Expert
Posts: 2,266
Registered: ‎11-23-2012
Message 7 of 12 (673 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

[ Edited ]

An all file will restore everything, including the paint settings, so might bring the issue back if it's a paint setting problem. Before doing the full reset you could try just resetting the paint settings by loading the internal "standard" paint file in the scene file section of the files menu.

SI Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-14-2013
Message 8 of 12 (669 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

[ Edited ]

Good advice thanks. I guess if that solves it I would have to re save my all files with this adjusted paint settings. Other wise as you mention it would revert back to the paint settings that are currently stored in my all file.

 

The strange thing about this is if the issue  is contained in my all file paint settings and  I have used the SD card for multi camera shoots where that same all file is loaded into other cameras and they do not have the same issue?? 

 

I can try your suggestion but if it is a paint setting issue would this not occur on every camera you loaded with my current SD card settings.???

 

Expert
Posts: 1,615
Registered: ‎06-12-2013
Message 9 of 12 (634 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

[ Edited ]

Ive had the internal battery die on me... a whole other story !.. but didnt notice any WB wierdness .. it was very sudden.. everything fine one day.. the next a very big warnign sign in the VF. I wish there had been some sort of earlier warning alert.. !  

SI Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-14-2013
Message 10 of 12 (627 Views)

Re: F55 White Balance not holding when I power down and back up again

[ Edited ]

Interesting. I have not seen any warning at all. I would think when that battery goes there are other things like time of day timecode would not hold. Mine does hold. I have not seen any other issues other than the white balance no holding. I am curious when you changed the internal battery did you have to send it away or is it an easy replacement?

As I said its been doing this over a year now and I would think if it was an internal battery issue it would have died by now??

I am going to load my SD card into a 2nd F55 and do some tests. We use  the same 2 F55s on many shoots with same all file and the 2nd camera has never had an issue. Will compare the paint menus etc as well. 

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook