Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

F5 & F55

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Expert
Posts: 1,431
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
Message 41 of 64 (2,331 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

But the F55 owner ultimately ends up with the heaviest wallet! It is a burden I accept. :-)

------------------------------------------
Doug Jensen, Vortex Media

In-depth Training Videos and Books for the FS7, FS5, Z150 and F55 camcorders

Expert
Posts: 1,647
Registered: ‎06-12-2013
Message 42 of 64 (2,222 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

Paul.. it is thanks to your 4K F5 "initiative".. that my F5 wallet is heavier for not having to buy an F55..! 

 

 

Expert
Posts: 245
Registered: ‎03-05-2013
Message 43 of 64 (1,999 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

Despite the advantages F5 owners have got (they got much more for their money than promised), I wouldn't want to miss my F55 for a second ! Every day I work I'm amazed more and more by the colors it produces 

Expert
Posts: 2,419
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 44 of 64 (1,992 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

NickWB, still curious how you worked out the F5 was 121% of rec709 colour space?

Today I was told by Pablo Garcia (Sony's 4K HDR workflow specialist at Pinewood) that it was just rec709, no bigger....
-----------------------------------------------------
Nez
http://www.videosoul.co.uk/
http://twitter.com/watchvideosoul
Expert
Posts: 161
Registered: ‎10-12-2014
Message 45 of 64 (1,948 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

[ Edited ]

+1

yeah, me too, Nez.

Whille I can't display rec2020, for obvious reasons, I can plot the colors of an image on a CIE chart. This is one of the measurement tools on my FSI monitor. Looking at images captured on my F5 with Sgamut3, I see data points up to the edges of Rec2020. Several points fall and stack up against the Rec2020 boundary, implying that they would exceed Rec2020 if the FSI could show a larger color gamut. 

Expert
Posts: 2,419
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 46 of 64 (1,884 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

...interesting...
-----------------------------------------------------
Nez
http://www.videosoul.co.uk/
http://twitter.com/watchvideosoul
SI Specialist
Specialist
Posts: 44
Registered: ‎09-14-2013
Message 47 of 64 (1,851 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

[ Edited ]

In the annoucement it mentions that when using one of the gamma looks they  can now improve the picture quality by "adjusting the pedestal". I have two questions.

 

1) We could adjust the pedestal before so whats new here? More range???

 

 

2) When using this function is it done when creating a new look or can this adjustment be made to a pre existing  saved look ? We use Gamma HG8 for a particular client who does not shoot in S log.Happy with the look but if this can "improve it".............

 

It was  a couple of sentences and a vague description in the very first post of this thread so hoping someone could shed some light onImproved image quality when User Gamma is used
Here is the quote.


"When you apply the User Gamma created for the HDC series to F55 and F5, picture quality has been improved by adjusting the pedestal level."

 

 

 

 

Apprentice
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-10-2015
Message 48 of 64 (1,789 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

I love the new update and quick menu, but I do have one big issue with it...

 

The new FPS option has regular frame rate, S&Q 1-60, and HFR. I mostly shoot sports, which requires me to switch between regular speed and HFR. If I am to accidentally select S&Q 1-60, the HFR option turns off. It is also off in the quick menu, which means you need to go to the regular menu and turn HFR back on. I don't understand why HFR is automatically turned off when selecting the 1-60 option.

 

Any thoughts?

Expert
Posts: 2,419
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 49 of 64 (1,772 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

Glad someone else has noticed this. I wrote about it here: http://community.sony.com/t5/F5-F55/Possible-bug-glitch-with-Quick-Menu-v7-01/m-p/550330#U550330

No replies...
-----------------------------------------------------
Nez
http://www.videosoul.co.uk/
http://twitter.com/watchvideosoul
Expert
Posts: 231
Registered: ‎08-21-2013
Message 50 of 64 (1,721 Views)

Re: NEW VERSION 7.01 FIRMWARE

Just quickly tested the HFR and 1-60 in the options menu on my F55. The HFR turns off if my base is 4K but not if it is HD, It looks as if it is do with turning HFR to 2K which it won't do if you are shooting 4K. I haven't tried with AXS R5 yet but if have time will see what happens.

 

Also another thanks for this update - the options menu is a great improvement. 

www.nickgordonsmith.com

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook