Welcome to the Community!

F5 & F55

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Moderator
Posts: 727
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 1 of 14 (3,349 Views)
Accepted Solution

Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

All,

 

There is a lot of power in Sony Vegas, please take a look when you can and see below

 

Regards

 

Peter

 

VP12_F5F55_Sheet_1.jpg

VP12_F5F55_Sheet_2.jpg

Expert
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎03-19-2013
Message 2 of 14 (3,044 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

Hi Peter,

The XAVC editing in Vegas is great. Unfortunately it it doesn't let you render out to XAVC. unless I'm missing something. Is that coming by chance?

What would be the best(lossless) option available in the present build?  SR I assume?

 

Thanks so much,

Shawn

 

Moderator
Posts: 727
Registered: ‎11-16-2012
Message 3 of 14 (3,039 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

Hi Shawn,

 

I cant speak about future plans, but if you need to export to a visually lossless codec, as opposed to uncompressed with significantly larger file sizes then yes the SR Codec is the way to go for sure

 

Regards

 

Peter

Expert
Posts: 397
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
Message 4 of 14 (3,018 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

does Vegas allow you to render to prores?
Reuben Steinberg
reubendp.com
@reubendp
Expert
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎03-19-2013
Message 5 of 14 (3,007 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

Unfortunately no. And I have two post houses running running FCP who can't take my XAVC files.

and I can't use resolve to do it because resolve won't run with AMD radeon GPU cards.

Been frustrating.

Expert
Posts: 397
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
Message 6 of 14 (2,960 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

Try Aiseesoft MXF Converter for Mac. I've used it on comps that can't use resolve. It's a simple MXF converter that can convert the xavc into proresHQ in batches. It's a pretty darn good as an alternative. It's only $30
Reuben Steinberg
reubendp.com
@reubendp
Expert
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎03-19-2013
Message 7 of 14 (2,953 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

Good to know thanks. I hadn't heard of them.  So it will convert XAVC 4K into prores 4K?

Looks like only the mac version does prores. I'm PC.  But a great option for my final cut houses when their resolve isn't available.

 

Shawn

Expert
Posts: 397
Registered: ‎11-20-2012
Message 8 of 14 (2,943 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

No, it scales to 1080p. But it's the only work around I've found. It doesn't support 4k
Reuben Steinberg
reubendp.com
@reubendp
Expert
Posts: 1,571
Registered: ‎11-19-2012
Message 9 of 14 (2,911 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

[ Edited ]

ccatpix wrote:

Unfortunately no. And I have two post houses running running FCP who can't take my XAVC files.

and I can't use resolve to do it because resolve won't run with AMD radeon GPU cards.

Been frustrating.


Have you actually tried to run Resolve? I got it working on my mac book pro runnin radeon, I have to upgrade my osx to mountain lion however. BlackMagic support told me it would work when I called them.

Expert
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎03-19-2013
Message 10 of 14 (2,836 Views)

Re: Sony Vegas now with Native XAVC editing, SR Codec and more

I loaded lite version and wouldn't open. had a window pop up saying I need cuda core gpu. I'm assuming resolve 9 would do the same. might be a Mac PC thing. I know there are probably some work arounds. Don't want to swap to a nvideo card right now.

Building new lap top soon for on set data wrangling . So will make sure it's set for Resolve.

 

 

 

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook