Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

F5 & F55

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Expert
Posts: 2,476
Registered: ‎11-21-2012
Message 11 of 20 (2,330 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Your photo hasn't been approved yet, but it seems like you have done EXACTLY what I've been planning to do, but haven't had a chance yet! Smiley Very Happy
Apprentice
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎03-06-2014
Message 12 of 20 (2,322 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

[ Edited ]

Can you please post the link to the switch (from Perrytech?) that you are speaking of? I can't find that on a Google search.

Thank you

Enthusiast
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-30-2014
Message 13 of 20 (2,229 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Does someone have any knowledge in regards of the use of the "OConnor O-Grips Start/Stop Switch Module” (C1244-1004) in combination with an Sony F5/55?

Would like to know I’ve it works and when it does which cable you’ve used to make it work Smiley Wink

 

link: http://www.ocon.com/products/parts/o-grips-switch-module

 

Specialist
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
Message 14 of 20 (2,218 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Actually this type of switch works fantastic. I made one up about 6 months ago with this Expose switch ( I use one on my MTB ) and thought it would work great. Nice "Click" button feel when pressed.

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/ie/en/exposure-smart-port-remote-switch/rp-prod31366

 

I cut the plug off and wired it to a Hirose conenctor. I also made a 4M long extension ( Hirose to Hirose ) for the button release so when the camera is on a Jib I can remote start and stop. Total cost around €100 or so. 

 

One thing I really like is because you velcro the button on you can position / re position it to your specific setup.

Expert
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎04-04-2013
Message 15 of 20 (2,160 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Hi Ian,

 

So this exposure switch is 'momentary' and behaves well as a remote on and off? It looks perfect for the job.

 

Thanks,

 

James

 

James Ewen

Earthmedia Film

Oslo

Norway

 

 

Specialist
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
Message 16 of 20 (2,152 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Hi James,

                 Yes its momentary - like a metal buton switch - old fashioned clicker feel - if you know what I mean. It works perfectly. I actually purchased a few of them in-case they decided to change the design !

 

Thanks,

 

Ian

Expert
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎04-04-2013
Message 17 of 20 (2,016 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Here is the switch as discussed in this thread, works a treat. Thank you Ian for the pointer.

 

IMG_1379.JPG

 

James Ewen

Earthmedia Film

Oslo, Norway

Highlighted
Enthusiast
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2017
Message 18 of 20 (856 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Hye JamesEwen,
Sorry to wake up this old topic...
I try to do the same switch than yours, do you think it's possible for you to send a connection guide between the IROS 4 and the switch..? Something like the color of the cable to the pin number...?
Specialist
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
Message 19 of 20 (838 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

Hi Yann,

                Just connect the two wires from the switch to pins 3 and 1. See link / thread below for pinout information for the Hirose connector and that will do the trick.

 

 

Thanks,

 

Ian

 

http://community.sony.com/t5/F5-F55/Remote-record-start-stop-switch/td-p/257387/page/2

 

Enthusiast
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-19-2017
Message 20 of 20 (799 Views)

Re: Switch for F5/55 remote start

thanks for your help Ianmac!

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook