Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

Home Theater Products

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-14-2017
Message 1 of 5 (1,179 Views)

Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar No sound just a message either Please Wait or Stand by

This is my 2nd Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar w subwoofer as my first one went up in 19 days. I have had the unit for 2 months now and normally when I turn on my TV, it will turn on and the sound will come out of the soundbar and subwoofer.

Now it says PLEASE WAIT and the sound never comes on. I really need to fix this issue as my wife is getting really angry and so am I. I have it hooked up VIA ARC cable and everything was fine unti; yesterday.

Even when going to the menu screen (which takes forever to show up) it doesnt help me at all of solving this issue.

Moderator
Posts: 253
Registered: ‎03-10-2014
Message 2 of 5 (1,150 Views)

Re: Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar No sound just a message either Please Wait or Stand by

Hello Bheiser,

 

Since you can access your soundbar [Home] menu, you will need to update the firmware to the latest version (M34.R.2082).  This firmware helps improve the Audio Output condition where the HDMI handshake fails and you get a No Sound condition with the "Please Wait" messaging.  

 

To update your unit, press [Home] go to [Setup] in the upper right corner.  Then run the [Software Update].

 

Hope this helps you,

Chris

Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-14-2017
Message 3 of 5 (1,063 Views)

Re: Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar No sound just a message either Please Wait or Stand by

It didn't help. Called Sony support and where I purchased it from and got a refund. I decided to go with one of your competitors. It's a shame because I was a loyal Sony customer.
Enthusiast
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-08-2017
Message 4 of 5 (852 Views)

Re: Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar No sound just a message either Please Wait or Stand by

I have this same problem, but I can't access the home screen. I cannot get to the menu. Only the gradient gray background is displayed. Performed RESET (Power Button & Vol- for 5-10 seconds,) but unit still fails to show menu.  Remote will turn the soundbar on/off. Disconnected all HDMI cables, and performed complete cable and power disconnects for at least 5 minutes. For a brief minute I did see Sony on a black screen but that disappeared. I think it would be easier to get sound out of a brick. Frustrated, too late to take back this expensive and basically  useless at the present time.  Please help.

Moderator
Posts: 4,146
Registered: ‎10-20-2014
Message 5 of 5 (833 Views)

Re: Sony HTCT790 Sound Bar No sound just a message either Please Wait or Stand by

Hi SpringCreek,

 

Welcome and thank you for considering SONY Community!

 

Have you tried calling our Technical Support team about this issue?
If so, kindly send your reference number/event ID to me via Private Message(PM) so we can further assist you.
 
 
Thanks,
>Joffrey

 



Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook