Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

Internet TV

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Enthusiast
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-09-2014
Message 31 of 104 (14,867 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

Was thinking of buying that model tv. Are you a time warner customer? Do u have the combo modem/router that they give us now? How do u like the tv otherwise? Thanx!
Enthusiast
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-02-2014
Message 32 of 104 (14,849 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

Are you a time warner customer? no

Do u have the combo modem/router that they give us now? no

How do u like the tv otherwise?

It's a very good television, great image and sound. The only thing that is not very good is the smart function because the same problems that all other products have: wifi connections issues, SEN issues.

Enthusiast
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-09-2014
Message 33 of 104 (14,838 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

Thanx for your help.
Apprentice
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-03-2015
Message 34 of 104 (14,643 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

I am having the same issue with both of our Sony TV-s (KDL40W600B and KDL48W600B).

 

When it is configured, they both work fine but after turning them off, I have to go through the network setup procedure every time.

 

I have the same issue with both wired and Wi-Fi connection.

 

Tried a number of different routers, no joy.  Resetting to factory defaults makes no difference.  The 2 TVs are 15' from each other and I have an access point between the two, the signal strength is very hihg.  Other Wi-Fi devices work flawlessly in the house.

 

My router is at 192.168.1.1 set as a default gateway and the devices do pick up a 192.168.1.****** IP address from the DHCP server when I run the setup.

 

I did a new test today.  After turning the set on, finding that it is not connected I checked the network status and configuration.

 

It is showing the correct SSID, the network field strength is at maximum (all 3 shields on) but the IP address is 192.168.2.****** and the default gateway shows 192.168.2.1

 

I do not have anything configured for a 192.168.2. network, no DHCP server handing out those addresses.

 

Any suggestion how to correct this would be greatly appreciated.

 

Frank

Enthusiast
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-09-2014
Message 35 of 104 (14,635 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

Just switched my ip address on tv to "0.2" at the end instead of 1. As of now its working . well see.

Apprentice
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-03-2015
Message 36 of 104 (14,601 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

[ Edited ]

SUCCESS!!!!!!!

 

I have it figured out and solved the problem.

 

After turning the TV on, it has an incorrect IP address assigned.

 

I have gone through the network setup procedure and got it properly connected using the auto configuration.

 

Made a note of the assigned IP address as well as the MAC address ot the TV.

 

Logged into my router and set up a DHCP reservation of the assigned IP address to the MAC address of the TV.  This guarantees that in the future this one IP address is always assigned to the TV.

 

Ran the network setup again on the TV but this time did it manually, entering:

1. for the IP address the reserved IP address.

2. for the default gateway the IP address of the router.

3. for the Primary DNS 8.8.8.8

4. for the Secondary DNS 8.8.4.4

 

The result is that now after turning the TV off and powering it back again, the IP address remains the same correct one and the Internet connection is reliably maintained.

 

 

Enthusiast
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-09-2014
Message 37 of 104 (14,589 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

Thats great  Working for me too now since I changed ip to 0.2 instead of 0.1   

Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-31-2015
Message 38 of 104 (10,748 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

My Gosh,

I bought Sony Android tv today and having WiFi connection issue. Demo person from Sony tried and fed up then left. My TV model is kdl-43w950c. Now I searched these msgs and understand that this issue with SONY. What a shock SONY on first day where I thought no issues with this brand.

My net WiFi is all high fi range.

Please get me out from first day shock by SONY brand.

Mohi
Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-28-2016
Message 39 of 104 (8,347 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

We have been having this problem.  I am still not sure why this happens, but the solution I found is really simple.

 

We unplugged the TV, waited for 30 seconds (don't really know how long you are supposed to wait, and replugged the TV in and restarted.   All was well as the TV did a cold start which seemed to refresh the settings.

 

Worked for me.

Ken.

Enthusiast
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎05-15-2016
Message 40 of 104 (7,600 Views)

Re: Why does smart tv lose internet connection after shutdown?

I am not sure of a "fix" I have it working for the last while. I reset the television. I then tried MANY TIMES to get the TV to hook up. I have a router that also outputs 5G. I tried to get the TV to lock on to either the 5G or the regular frequency. After the many tries the TV started to actually connect then drop then connect again. In one period I was able to copy the IP and the gateway info. I then ALSO DURING A BRIEF CONNECTION was able to enter the information manually. Finally I typed in the router password. The TV did not connect saying the password was wrong. Just before giving up in disgust I chose the EASY setup. Chose the non 5G output of the router and for some reason the TV locked on. I have however bought a CAT5 cable for a wired connection for when it fails again. SONY you definitely need to figure this out. You have fallen so far in quality and customer service. These TVs are ****** expensive if you can't put quality in them as they are built. Create updates to fix this stuff

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook