Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

PlayMemories

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Specialist
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-15-2017
Message 11 of 16 (114 Views)

Re: SONY NEEDS TO RESPOND TO US!!!!! - What is the future of Playmemories apps on these cameras?

OK, fair enough. Then where IS Sony responding to this? NOT a good way to treat loyal customers.
Highlighted
Rookie
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-12-2018
Message 12 of 16 (73 Views)

Re: SONY NEEDS TO RESPOND TO US!!!!! - What is the future of Playmemories apps on these cameras?

i can't attest to this issue, but Sony customer support is the worst. I've got concerns with sony lenses, and when i reach out to Sony i get very little repsonse. I'm new to photography and love the Sony cameras, but lack of lense options, price, quality of lower tier lense is making me want to change. Listen to your followers Sony, or else im jumping ship to Canon.

Enthusiast
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-17-2018
Message 13 of 16 (19 Views)

Re: SONY NEEDS TO RESPOND TO US!!!!! - What is the future of Playmemories apps on these cameras?

I'm a Canon user who was debating between upgrading to the 5DIV and jumping over to the Sony A7RIII. One of the things I was excited about on both cameras was the addition of the camera/phone connection and GPS. I bought the A7RIII and love everything about the camera itself, of course. I've tried severals times to connect my camera to the PlayMemories App and it won't connect. What in the world are the Wifi and Bluetooth functions on the camera for, then? 

 

I have 3 days left to return the camera. Are there any other apps out there to look at? It would be nice to have some assurance that Sony is working on a better PlayMemories app. It's a little ridiculous that the A7RIII manuals say to use PlayMemories when it clearly isn't working. 

Specialist
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-15-2017
Message 14 of 16 (17 Views)

Re: SONY NEEDS TO RESPOND TO US!!!!! - What is the future of Playmemories apps on these cameras?

If you are just trying to use PlayMemories, the app you install on your pc or phone to remotely connect to the phone, that works. It's the PlayMemories app framework that they don't have on the camera anymore (with this frame work, you could install new functionality onto your Sony camera like time lapse, focus stacking, digital ND filter, etc.).

But just to connect to your camera via wifi or Bluetooth, to remotely adjust some of its settings, take a picture, video, or get files... that works fine.

Most likely, you are having issue with the convoluted implementation Sony did. It is a bit awkward to get used to, but once you do, ALL their camera's are like that.

I will go get my a7R3 out, and give you step by step in just a minute...
Specialist
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-15-2017
Message 15 of 16 (16 Views)

Re: SONY NEEDS TO RESPOND TO US!!!!! - What is the future of Playmemories apps on these cameras?

OK, here is how I use the PlayMemories Mobile app from my Note8 Android smart phone...

  1. Install "PlayMemories Mobile" app on your phone (my iPhone is the same way)
  2. Make sure your WIFI is on, and any WIFI networks disconnected from (you want WIFI on, but not be connected to any networks)
  3. On your a7R3, go to "Menu", go to tab that looks like a globe, called "Network1" tab 1/2
  4. Arrow down to "Ctl w/ Smartphone", and select (using the select button in the middle of grooved turn dial on back that has DISP, ISO, etc, it's the middle button)
  5. Make sure "Ctrl w/ Smartphone" is "On" (if not, select "Off" and set to "On")
  6. Next, scroll down to "Connection" and select (this will put the camera in a WIFI mode and present you with a "Connection Info" screen, which contains a QR code.
  7. Now, on your SmartPhone, open the PlayMemories Mobile app and select "Scan QA Code of the Camera"
  8. hold your phones camera up to the back of the a7R3 until it vibrates and says "Scanning Complete"
  9. Select "OK" to Connect with the camera?
  10. WHALLAH!!!

Hope that helps

Specialist
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎09-15-2017
Message 16 of 16 (15 Views)

Re: SONY NEEDS TO RESPOND TO US!!!!! - What is the future of Playmemories apps on these cameras?

Hey Docutog, I just tried the same on my iPhone and there is one slight variation..

 

After sanning the QR code and selecting OK to connect...

 

On mine, I have to "Allow" (it's opening a website to load a config profile)

On "Install Profile" screen, select "Install" at the top right, then your passcode for your phone if you have one.

Then "Install" on top right again, and select the big "Install" button on the bottom

Lastly, select "Done" on the top right and OK a couple of times.

Now you are connected and can remotely use the camera.

 

THIS IS ANNOYING and is making me do it every time?  Though, this is my work provided cell phone, and they have it locked down pretty good, so it could be just that.  It is possible that a non "hardened" iPhone does not make you go through this??

 

Hope this helps.

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook