Skip to the end of navigation

Welcome to the Community!

Television - General

Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Enthusiast
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-15-2017
Message 21 of 33 (2,669 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

I am checkng the remote control, does not look like has a sleep timer at Bravia 65" TV under home set-up?  If I know that this TV has no sleep timer I will not get it at all.  Please advise any other solution for set up a timer for this TV?  Thanks

 

Helen

mcd Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-12-2017
Message 22 of 33 (2,661 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

Yes they have a ****** netflix and google play buttons and remove essential features like sleep timer - extremely dumb.
Please add it at least in the actions menu!!!
Who the ****** is designing and testing for you SONY?
Highlighted
Moderator
Posts: 1,701
Registered: ‎11-04-2016
Message 23 of 33 (2,616 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

Hi Helen,

 

Welcome and thank you for considering the SONY Community!

 

Can you please provide us the exact model number of your TV? You can post your answer here or send me a private message. Some TV models will allow you to set the Sleep Timer by pressing the HOME button on the remote then scroll down and select TIMER.

 

 

Best regards,

~Erin

 

If my post answers your question, please click the button below "Accept as Solution".

Enthusiast
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-26-2016
Message 24 of 33 (2,609 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

[ Edited ]

Your post doesn't answer the question. Sony screwed up big by not putting a dedicated sleep timer button on the remote. Makes no sense.

If I told you the truth, I'd be lying.
mcd Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-12-2017
Message 25 of 33 (2,603 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

Yeah - half hour browsing through the menus to set a dumb sleep timer - the guy who designed this is an idiot - nothing personal.
Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-31-2017
Message 26 of 33 (2,351 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

I believe I may have solved this issue. My son wanted to use the sleep timer, I looked but it's nowhere to be found, then it hit me. Wait a minute....Many of us are now using remotes from Xfinity or Comcast or Dish, Direct TV therefore they are no longer using the remote for the "Sony Television". The Sleep Timer on the Sony KDL 558X520 is actually there if you use the correct SONY remote, the one that came with your television. Easist way to select sleep timer is to select Option -> scroll down to Sleep Timer -> then select the amount of time you wish to set it for. To get out of the menu, select Return. Also, if you wish to, you can attach velcro to the back of your remotes and stick them together. I know, pain in the you-know-what but at least that way they should be always near each other.

Hope this helps.

Jim

mcd Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎04-12-2017
Message 27 of 33 (2,340 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

Yeah - buy a $2000 tv and use Velcro - good idea isn't i?

Enthusiast
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-30-2017
Message 28 of 33 (1,520 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

I am a product designer.  In fact, some years ago I have done work for Sony TVs in Rancho Bernardo as a consultant.  I am also a fan of Sony and now own two larger 4K Bravia TVs.  I love everything about them (mostly) with one glaring exception that really is a bit dumbfounding.  The lack of a sleep timer button on the remote and no way to program one of the buttons to be a sleep timer.  This is a common function and yet it is required to dive into the menu online to get there, set the timer, then exit.  Yet the remote includes one button access for other things like Netflix..and 4 colorful menus for some features I have yet to see,

 

The user interface of a product should not be a source of irritation.  And it boggles my mind that there could be such an easy fix, yet Sony has years of complaints about this and all we see are what almost appear to be bot responses, or instructions on how to use the menu. Does Sony think this is a minor issue, or only a few people care about it?   

 

My work around now is to buy an older remote with a sleep button on it, but it having to have a separate remote for one feature, on a high end television is a little rediculous and really speaks to how silly this is.


Rant over.  Please fix this Sony.  I would like to consider Sony for my next screen purchase but if this is not fixed, I will look elsewhere.  Thank you.

Enthusiast
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-20-2017
Message 29 of 33 (1,216 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

erexJim, people *ARE* using their Sony remotes. On my model (XBR-55X800E), there is no sleep timer button on the remote -- and setting it via [Home] and navigating to the desired sleep delay takes *TWELVE* button presses. There are OVER TWO DOZEN BUTTONS on the remote control that I will use LESS FREQUENTLY than the sleep function. I'm sure there are a LOT of people who are similar in this. I have been buying Sony products for decades as much for their well-thought-out features as for their quality. I find it beyond ridiculous that they dropped the ball on this. Terrible, terrible, terrible design choice. This should at least have been rectified in making the timer accessible at the top of the Action Menu or Home screen. Sony's reluctance to admit to this mistake and make it more bearable is even more infuriating than the original design screw-up.
Rookie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-27-2017
Message 30 of 33 (849 Views)

Re: Sleep Timer hard to set

Can one of the colored buttons be set for one touch sleep timer

Get Social

Share your ideas Watch YouTube Support Videos follow us on Twitter Visit us on Facebook